Ontario Secondary School Teachers' Federation
DISTRICT 25 Ottawa-Carleton

Welcome to District 25

"Protecting and Enhancing Public Education"

For over 80 years, members of the Ontario Secondary School Teachers' Federation (OSSTF) have promoted and defended quality education in Ontario. With over 5,000 members, District 25 is the second biggest and one of the most diverse OSSTF district in Ontario. We represent all unionized employees, with the exception of elementary teachers, at the Ottawa-Carleton District School Board.  "The Whole School is a Classroom" accurately describes our way of thinking.  

On December 30, 1919, The Federation was founded at a meeting attended by 62 representatives. Within a year there were more than 1,000 members in 14 Districts. Now with a membership of more than 60,000 caring individuals across the province, that commitment is stronger than ever. For more history of OSSTF click HERE.


Members are represented by their Bargaining Units. Information that members will need can be found under the Bargaining Unit heading above.

District 25 has four district wide committees.  These can be found under the Committees heading above.  Negotiations and grievances are the responsibility of the individual bargaining units, found under the Bargaining Units. Each unit has a Collective Bargaining Committee. This is a committee most members are interested in, especially now as our contract nears its end.  As well there may be other committees within each of the units.  There is lots happening so feel free to involved! If you have an interest or idea for a new committee, please let us know.


The District Executive Council (DEC) consists of the seven bargaining presidents, the district treasurer, and the non-voting chairs of the district committees.  

DEC meets several times per year and is the decision-making body for district issues between meetings of the Annual Meeting of District Assembly (AMDA). DEC is responsible for the operation of the District Office and coordination between Bargaining Units. The District Executive (president, vice president and secretary) are elected at the June District Executive Council meeting. The district treasurer is elected by the District Finance Committee.

AMDA is held in early May each year. Bargaining Units are represented by a number of delegates in proportion to the size of their membership. Constitutional resolutions and district budget are determined at AMDA.
Three office administrators serve the bargaining units. Say hello to Jennifer, Evelyn, and Tracy when you visit the office.
Members are active at the District and Bargaining Unit level.  There are four District Committees listed under the Committees tab.  The Bargaining Unit committees are listed under each unit.



Related Attachments

Contact Information

D-25 Office


Business: 613-729-7211